TRAFFORD COUNCIL

Report to: Annual Meeting of the Council

Date: 25 May 2016 Report for: Decision

Report of: Chief Executive

Report Title

APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE AND INDEPENDENT BODIES

Summary

To agree the appointment of representatives to outside and independent bodies relating to the service areas and functions of the Council.

Additionally, there is a more extensive list of outside and independent bodies whose activities relate to Executive functions. The appointments for these bodies will be made by the Leader of the Council/Executive, independently of the Council.

Recommendation(s)

- 1. That approval be given to the appointment of representatives to those outside and independent bodies set out in Appendix 1 to this report.
- That the Chief Executive, in consultation with the relevant Group Leader(s), be delegated authority to appoint members to any outside body vacancy that remains or arises after this Annual Meeting and to any other bodies to which the Council is required to make appointments (and to report back to Council on any changes or new appointments so made).
- 3. That the Council approves the persons named in Appendix 2 to sit on the Statutory School Appeals Committee for the 2016/17 Municipal Year and that the Director of Legal and Democratic Services be delegated authority to make changes to this list and to set up School Appeals Committees, including the appointment of Chairmen.

Contact person for access to background papers and further information:

Name: Ian Cockill

Extension: 1387

Background Papers: None.

TRAFFORD BOROUGH COUNCIL

REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES AND ORGANISATIONS

PERSONS NOMINATED - 2016/17

APPOINTMENTS MADE BY THE COUNCIL

Org	Organisation		Number of Representatives Required CON:LAB:LD		2016/17 Nominations Councillor(s)
1.	Greater Manchester Combined Authority (GMCA) / Association of Greater Manchester Authorities (AGMA)				
	(a)	AGMA Executive Board	1	1:0:0	Sean Anstee
			(Leader of the Council plus 2 named substitutes from the Executive)		Substitutes: Alex Williams John Lamb
	(b)	GMCA	1	1:0:0	Sean Anstee
			(Leader plus substitute)		Substitute: Alex Williams
	(c)	GMCA Leaders Portfolio – Lead Leader for Skills, Employment and Worklessness	1 (Leader Appointed	1:0:0	AGMA Leaders to determine
		VVOIKIESSITESS	by AGMA not a Council nomination)		(Sean Anstee)
	(d)	GMCA Audit Committee	1	1:0:0	AGMA Leaders to determine
			(Appointed by GMCA not a Council nomination)		(Patrick Myers)
	(e)	GMCA / AGMA Scrutiny Pool	3	2:1:0	Mrs. Pamela Dixon Michael Young
				(both sexes to be represented)	Barry Brotherton
	(f)	Greater Manchester Health and Wellbeing Board	1	1:0:0	Mrs. Patricia Young
	(g)	Greater Manchester Joint Health Scrutiny Committee	1 Non-Executive	1:0:0	Mrs. Patricia Young
			Member (plus Non-Executive		Substitute: Mrs. Angela Bruer-Morris
	/ b \	Creater Manahastar Ballian and	substitute)	1.0.0	Coop Arestee
	(h)	Greater Manchester Police and Crime Panel	1 (Leader)	1:0:0	Sean Anstee
			(LEduel)		

ganisation		Number of Representatives		2016/17 Nominations
(i)	Greater Manchester Police and Crime Steering Group	1	1:0:0	John Lamb
(j)	Greater Manchester Reform Committee	1	1:0:0	Sean Anstee
		(Executive Member with responsibility for Public Service Reform)		
(k)	Health and Social Care Strategic Partnership Board	1	1:0:0	Sean Anstee
		(Leader)		
(I)	Local Enterprise Partnership	1	1:0:0	AGMA Leaders to determine
		(Leader Appointed by AGMA not a Council nomination)		(Sean Anstee)
(m)	Manchester Growth Company Board	1	1:0:0	Combined Authority t determine
		(Leader Appointed by GMCA not a Council nomination)		(Sean Anstee)
(n)	Planning and Housing Commission	1	1:0:0	Brian Shaw
(0)	Standards Committee	1	1:0:0	Combined Authority t determine
		(Leader Appointed by GMCA not a Council nomination)		(Sean Anstee)
(p)	Statutory Functions Committee	1	1:0:0	Bernard Sharp
				Substitute: Dylan Butt
(q)	Transport for Greater Manchester Committee	3*	2:1:0	David Hopps Mrs. June Reilly*
		*Spokesperson to be nominated		Mike Cordingley
GMC	CA / AGMA Outside Bodies			
(r)	Greater Manchester Pensions Fund Management Panel	1	1:0:0	Alan Mitchell
(s)	Halle Board	1	1:0:0	Chief Executive
(t)	Regional Leaders Board	1	1:0:0	Combined Authority t determine
		(Leader Appointed by GMCA not a Council nomination)		(Sean Anstee)

Org	Organisation		Number of Representatives		2016/17 Nominations	
			Required CON:LAB:LD		Councillor(s)	
	(u)) Skills and Employment Partnership	1	1:0:0	Combined Authority to determine	
			(Leader Appointed by GMCA not a Council nomination)		(Sean Anstee)	
	(v)	Greater Manchester (European Programmes) Local Management	1 (CMCA Portfolio	1:0:0	Combined Authority to determine	
		Committee	(GMCA Portfolio Lead for Skills and Employment)		(Sean Anstee)	
2.	Greater Manchester Fire and Rescue Authority		3*	2:1:0	Brian Rigby* Michael Whetton	
		,	*Spokesperson to be nominated		David Acton	
3.	Greater Manchester Waste Disposal Authority (GMWDA)		2*	2:0:0	John Holden Michael Young*	
	Auu	ionty (Giviviba)	*Spokesperson to be nominated		Wichael Foung	
4.		al Government Association - eral Assembly	4	3:1:0	Sean Anstee Mrs. Laura Evans Matthew Sephton Andrew Western	
5.		chester Metropolitan oughs Pest Control Council	2	2:0:0	Paul Lally Matthew Sephton	
6.	Man	chester Port Health Authority	1	1:0:0	Bernard Sharp	
			(plus Deputy)		Deputy: Brian Shaw	
7.		onal Society for Clean Air and ironmental Protection	2	2:0:0	Mark Cawdrey Brian Shaw	
8.	Nort	h West Employers	1	1:0:0	Brian Rigby	
			(plus Deputy)		Deputy: Nathan Evans	
9.	Stat	utory School Admissions Appeals	(See appendix 2 a	attached – not		
٥.	Con					

STATUTORY SCHOOL ADMISSION APPEALS COMMITTEE - PANEL MEMBERS FOR 2016/17

Lay People:

Mrs. Bailey Mr. Jones
Mrs. Bracegirdle Miss D. Jones
Mrs Broadstock Mr. Munday (Chair)

Mr. Christie Mrs. Reed

Mrs. Finn (Chair)
Mr. Gorrie
Ms. Hall
Mrs. Smith (Chair)
Miss S. Stout
Mr. Turner

Mrs. Hargreaves Mr. Wright (Chair)
Mrs. A. Jones (Chair) Mr. Whitehead (Chair)

People with an Interest in Education:

Mrs. Askari Mrs. Hassan
Mrs. Clapperton Mr. Hassan
Mr. Cockayne (Chair) Mrs. D. Jones
Mrs. Coulburn Mrs. Kelly
Mrs. Dee Mrs. Myerson
Mrs. Foan (Chair) Mrs. Peters

Mrs. Gorodkin Mrs. Quest Mrs. Groves Mrs. Sher (Chair)

Mr. T. Hall (Chair)